HERTFORDSHIRE & SURROUNDING AREAS

01992 302072

07850 556419



S.T Grayson Testimonials

What our customers say...

Review from Trustatrader

Steven Grayson is positive and forthright. He is reliable, conscientious and totally trustworthy . He has great knowledge regarding decorating and excellent practical skills. In addition he commands a truly impressive team of electricians, plumbers, plasterers, painters and gardeners etc. who under his instructions work diligently to produce a perfect result. I just wish we had found him earlier!

John Browett - Oct 2018

Review from Trustatrader

Steve's experience and knowledge about decorating techniques and materials meant he was able to give us good advice. He works hard and produces flawless results. He is very reliable, polite and pleasant to have around the house. We were delighted with the bedroom he redecorated for us!

Clare Turner - Aug 2018

Review from Trustatrader

I have used Steve at ST Grayson on many occasions. He is always professional, reliable, clean and tidy in his work. I would happily recommend to all.

Oliver Haestier - Apr 2018

Review from Trustatrader

Always on time, never late. Left really tidy everyday. Best trader I have used, brilliant preparation. The finish is amazing. Have used him numerous times.

Mr Jones - Apr 2018

Review from Trustatrader

Wholeheartedly recommend. Went above and beyond to complete the work on time. Impeccably tidy at the end of each day.

Mr Stinton - Apr 2018

Review from Trustatrader

Always happy with Stephens work. He project managed work at our house. Very high standard of work.

Mr David Abrahams - Apr 2018

Review from Trustatrader

Real professional, knows what he's doing. He put right work that another trader had done badly.

Mrs Naylor - Apr 2018

Review from Trustatrader

Good suggestions and good contacts for other trades. Pleasant guy and very trustworthy.

Mrs Upton - Apr 2018

Review from Trustatrader

It was a pleasure to have Steve work for us. He re-painted the skirting boards and internal doors and window-sills in several rooms and the hall / landing. He was very clear up front on the scope of the work, what was being done when, and what the payment schedule was. He did exactly what he said he would to a high and professional standard. He was also very courteous and careful around the house. We would definitely recommend him and use him again.

Duncan Potts - Apr 2018

Review from Trustatrader

He does all my decorating and maintenance. Top marks for everything. Can't fault him.

Mr Heaslier - Apr 2018

Review from Trustatrader

Superb service, very good value. Can't fault him. Would undoubtedly recommend.

Mr James Shaw - Apr 2018

High Quality, Polite & very professional.

I have used ST Grayson over many years, the standard of work produced by Steve and his team is outstanding, I moved to a different area and even though Steve and his team were not local anymore, I took the first opportunity to book him for our works, due to the standard of workmanship. The team are clean tidy and very professional,and i will say they prepared everything extremely well before painting to get a great finish, I would Highly recommend Steve and his team for any project, brilliant service and fantastic results, a pleasure to work with & will continue to use ST Grayson for all our decorating work in the future.

BJ-AV - Feb 2018

Highly recommended, very professional and trustworthy

Very pleased with painting and decorating to all internal rooms at our house. We found Steve to be very helpful,trustworthy, honest and hardworking. Very helpful in helping me with many chores. Would recommend Steve to family, friends and acquaintances.

RedWheel63-1 - Jan 2018

A breath of fresh air, professional, tidy, polite and realiable

We were really nervous of picking out a company to come and paint our traditional wooden sash and cottage windows after we had a bad experience with another company last year. However we felt confident when we met Steve as it was obvious they are a very professional company. We were given a reasonable quote, a firm date for the work to be done and they liaised with the local paint suppliers to get us the right paint too!

This is the second week that they have been on site and we have no complaints. They are very tidy, polite and it is clear that they know what they are doing. Honestly its such a relief to (a) finally get our windows painted and looking good and (b) have such a professional company on site. We would definitely recommend them with confidence. :-) .

JaniceN-9 - July 2017

All my interior and exterior work for nearly 25 years

I have used Steve for all interior and exterior work for nearly 25 years. He is very professional and his work is of a very high standard. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend him.

CjA-2 - Catherine A - March 2017

Small interior project

I was very pleased to have decided to use Steve for my small interior project; from quote to completion he was polite, (friendly), professional and full of advice. I felt that the work completed was taken care over, and Steve was quick to ask if I was happy once he completed each stage. Definitely recommended.

NikkiC-37 - Feb 2017

Complex job masterfully completed

I have known Steve Grayson for over 20 years and previously used him for modest interior and exterior decorating jobs. Invariably finished to a very high standard he was the obvious person to turn to to handle the refurbishment and redecoration of my new home. Steve has project-managed a complex set of work including coordinating electricians, plasterers, tilers and plumbers as well as the decorating, handling a number of issues along the way, including rebuilding internal walls when it transpired that the previous owner's tiles and other unusual fittings were perhaps a little too well 'fixed'. Every cheerful and thoroughly reliable, he turns up when he says he will and has managed my expectations at every stage. The finished product is as professional as you would expect.

DavidA-223 - Jan 2017

Very personable and professional

We used Steve for some painting and were pleased with the results. Steve was very personable and professional from the start and offered useful advice along with completing the work to a good standard. We'll be calling on him again for future requirements!

damianboys - Dec 2016

Steve is a friendly and professional individual

Steve and team have just finished decorating our hallway. They've done a great job, really good attention to detail, and completed in the expected timescales. Steve is a friendly and professional individual - he rang us every day (as we were not there whilst he was working) to check we were happy with progress and to agree resolution of any 'snagging' items. We're definitely going to ask Steve to do more work for us.

LizT-24 - Nov 2016

Exterior Painting

Steve and his team are a pleasure to deal with, very professional, hard-working and reliable. Their work is neat, beautifully finished and well-priced. They painted and restored all exterior woodwork and masonry of our 3 storey townhouse. His attention to detail is second to none and we are extremely happy with the results and would have no hesitation of recommending him to others.

PatriciaW-16 - June 2016

High quality & great customer service

Steve has worked for us on several occasions. He has always done an excellent job, and always been prepared to go that extra mile - like cleaning out the gutters when he was up the ladder painting the soffits! Not only is his work of a high standard, but he is always helpful and personable, and has introduced me to other tradesmen when I have needed them. I am very happy to recommend him.

HilaryO-1 - June 2016

He has a group of carpenters, roofers, scaffolders etc

We have recently employed Mr Grayson for a significant amount of external decorating to our first and second floors including some high gables. We have been very pleased with Steve's work. He is very professional, conscientious and thorough and always shows you exactly what he has done and asks for feedback. Every day he has let us know the exact status of the work. In addition, he has a group of carpenters, roofers, scaffolders etc that he can call on when necessary and has successfully managed our complete project.

TonyU-1 - June 2016

Good Quality Service

Over the past year or so, Steve has decorated both the outside and some of the inside of our house. He is very dependable, always arrives on time and works very tidily which helps to minimise disruption. The quality of his work is very good, and on the odd occasion that something needs to be sorted he does so without delay. Highly recommended.

JennyH-45 - June 2016

Steve showed great professionalism

Steve showed great professionalism coaching us through alternative decisions to save us money on our lounge and kitchen. He was thorough throughout and did an outstanding job. We asked him to do the outside of the house and were equally impressed. Many thanks Steve.

DaM-3 - June 2016

Takes pride in his work

Steve first did some decorating for me around 15 years ago , a friend recommended him as I kept on being let down by other decorators. A very good trustworthy tradesman and does what he says when he's say I can't recommend him more highly. Helped get rid of a bad stain on my ceiling I tried and it kept coming back , Steve worked his magic and it was gone thanks Steve.

AndyE-16 - June 2016

Outstanding and professional

A* decorator. I would highly recommend. Not just the quality of work that was outstanding the professionalism of himself was out of this world. Helping me with what ever I need and nothing was too big or too small for him. Outstanding. Would definitely use again.

PeterH-161 - June 2016

First Class Paintwork

Steve was brilliant. He made some recommendations for the job and did a first class job. The paintwork was great, they finished on time and with no mess left behind. Highly recommended, he was helpful in suggesting colours. I would definitely recommend them.

KevinE-13 - June 2016

Quotes are comprehensive and competitive

I have employed Steve GRAYSON for more than seven years for both interior an d exterior work. Quotes are comprehensive and competitive and once the estimate is agreed Steve and his team start and don't leave until the job is finished to me satisfaction. Well worth it.

PiersR-1 - Piers Rogers - June 2016

Fantastic professional job, highly recommend.

From quote to completion, I found Steve to be extremely professional, all the work was completed to an exceptionally high standard. His work was clean and tidy and I found him to be polite and friendly. I was delighted with the finished work, the rooms looked fabulous. I would highly recommend, excellent!

SueL-34 - June 2016

Steve has painted most of our house

Over the last few years Steve has painted most of our house. He came highly recommended by a friend and I now, in turn, highly recommend him to anyone looking for a professional, polite and conscientious service.

RichardT-82 - June 2016


Pre-2016


To all potential clients.

I highly recomend Steve to do your decorating.. He is fair, honest, reasonable, reliable and works to the highest standard of decorating that I have seen..as well as appreciating the value and standard of his decorating it is a bonus to have the pleasure of his company around the house.

Michael Eringer

Redecorated the interior and exterior of our home

Steve and the team have redecorated the interior and exterior of our home at various points over the last 24 months. Steve and Gary are professional and take pride in the work they do which is always meticulous. Steve and the team tidy as they go and do in fact 'go the extra mile' - hovering up and washing windows after painting has been completed are but 2 of several examples that spring to mind. Those reading this reference will be pleased to hear that Steve consults on the work throughout and when he says that he and the team will turn up on the day agreed they do. My wife and I have got to know Steve and Gary well over the last 2 years and both are trustworthy and we have no qualms about letting them have unsupervised access to the house. I am very happy to recommend them.

Mr and Mrs Spencer

Recommended to me by a neighbour

Steve Grayson came highly recommended to me by a neighbour. We have since used Steve on 3 separate occasions, finding his professional and courteous approach a pleasure, not to mention the outstanding work he has completed for us, on time and on budget. Be prepared to book in advance.

Mr and Mrs Thornton

We were impressed throughout

Maurice and I want to thank you and your team for the job you have recently done redecorating our house. We were impressed throughout the last month at your obvious professional pride in the work undertaken, with great attention to detail and therefore excellent results with which we are delighted. In particular we would like to thank you and Gary for being so cheerful, reliable and trustworthy, always letting us know what was happening next, responding quickly to any communication, never failing to turn up exactly when promised and leaving the house swept and cleaned at the end of each day. Your willingness to work around our daily changing needs due to caring for our small granddaughter twice a week, and your compassion and flexibility around an unexpected bereavement and funeral, with our large family therefore suddenly arriving to stay during the time you were with us, were so helpful and very much appreciated. We were impressed with how efficiently you managed the project, dovetailing in plasterers, electrician, plumber and carpenters as and when needed. You were always willing to go the extra mile to give us the results we were looking for. When, occasionally and inevitably, something (however minor) was not to our satisfaction you immediately and with good grace put it right for us. We have already recommended you to friends and would have no hesitation in recommending you to anyone looking for decorating services.

Maggie and Maurice Newman

Delighted to provide a positive reference

I am delighted to provide a positive reference for Steve Grayson. Steve's Company undertook a comprehensive decorating program for the outside of my family home. Steve and his staff were exceptionally good at maintaining a professional program of delivery and keeping the work to schedule. I find all the people on his team to be friendly, considerate and punctual in completing the work to a high standard. I have recommended his services to other friends as his work is excellent.

Patricia Watson-Miller

Pleased with the exterior painting

We are very pleased with the exterior painting that was carried out recently by Steve and his assistant Gary. Our property has off white exterior wood cladding, Steve arranged a company to erect scaffolding to enable him to reach the high gable end of the property. The painting team undertook the work in a meticulous manner and care was taken in the preparation and undercoats were applied before the final coat of paint was was applied. Steve gave advice on the best makes of paint on the market. Steve and Gary arrived punctually each morning and worked continuously, [apart from a couple of days due to heavy rain] till the completion of the work. We recommend Steve for his professional approach. Steve was recommended to us by other neighbours who have had interior and exterior decoration work by him.

George Garbutt

Very professional, friendly and a clean workers

We found Steve to be very professional, friendly and a clean worker. His attention to detail is admirable and when he worked at our house care and security were paramount. He is completely trustworthy and reliable and we would always use him in the future.

Keith & Linda Hart

Struck by Steve's efficency and knowledge of all aspects of the trade

I first met Steve Grayson when I was refurbishing a cottage in Wareside. Steve lived opposite and since I was in need of a decorator I walked over and arranged for Steve to give me an estimate. I was first struck by his efficency and knowledge of all aspects of the trade: both internal and external work. All estimates were thorough, dates were agreed and the work was started on that date and finished on time. I highly recommend Steve Grayson and have used him on six projects since the iorst and he still has more work for me this Summer.

Piers Rogers

Highly recommended

I have been very pleased with both the speed and the quality of the painting undertaken. Mess during preparation was kept to an absolute minimum and there was no evidence of it at all once the job was complete. Highly recommended.

Mark Kay

Steve's professional and committed approach

The standard of the finished decoration is of the highest order and I cannot speak too highly of Steve's professional and committed approach to achieving a quality job. This was despite having to work around unpredictable weather and the need to deal with a number of unforeseen problems which arose over the course of the work. The planned yet flexible way in which Steve worked was also noteworthy, as was the fact he kept me informed of progress throughout. I would not hesitate to employ Steve Grayson again and can without question recommend the services of his company to any prospective customer.

Chris Garrand

Thank you for a professional job

Both Deborah and myself would like to thank you for the professional job you carried out on reviving the exterior of our house. The attention to detail was thorough and the difficult conditions due to the multitude of plants was skillfully overcome. We have no hesitation in recommending you to your other clients. Many thanks for all of your hard work. Hopefully we will be seeing you well before it gets in a similar state to the way you found it.

Charles & Deborah Hogarth

Your work is of a consistently high standard

I am happy for you to let prospective customers know that you have provided all of our internal and external decorating and carpentry needs for the last 12 years. Your work is of a consistently high standard, always carried out on time and to the agreed budget. Hopefully, you will be carrying out our decorating for many years to come.

Robert Lewis

No hesitation in recommending Steve Grayson

We have used the services of Steve Grayson over a number of years to maintain the exterior of our house. He has always adhered to agreed timetables (subject always to weather conditions) and the work undertaken has been of a perfectly satisfactory standard. Additionally, where work has continued over more than one day, he has ensured that all materials and tools have been cleared away at the end of each day. We would have no hesitation in recommending Steve Grayson to anyone needing similar work undertaken. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly for confirmation of this reference.

Catherine Abrahams

Proved to be conscientious and careful

Steve Grayson Has been decorating parts of our house over the past three years. He has done both inside and outside work and I have been very pleased with the results. Steve has proved to be conscientious and careful and most reliable. This is especially important for us because nirther my husband nor myself are around during the day and Steve can be relied upon to produce a quality job within the timescales that he has promised. Steve has also engaged plasterers and plumbers for odd jobs to ensure that decorating work couldbe done on time and this has worked very smoothly, with a minimum of hassle for us. He has advised on colour schemes and his input here has been useful to ensure that the end result was what we wanted. In addition he has left the place clean and tidy and if ever there was outstanding issues Steve always ensures he follows through on these. I have no hesitation in recommending Steve to anyone who needs a decorator for their home.

Marijke Cazemier

Exemplary workmanship

I would like to say how pleased my wife and I are with the work carried out on our home by Steve and Sarah. Exemplary workmanship, clean, tidy and punctual. We have on a number of occasions been out while they have been working away, secure in the knowledge that our home is safe and secure.

John Babbage

I geatly appreciated coming home to a clean house every night

I just wanted to thank you for the lovely job you have done decorating my lounge and kitchen. Even though I was only inconvenienced for four days, I geatly appreciated coming home to a clean house every night. It's been seven years since you first undertook decorating work for me and it is pleasing that the quality remains at such a high standard.

K. J. Parker

Most professional job decorating our study

We are writing to thank you once again for a most professional job decorating our study. Although only a small job in this instance, it has been carried out in the usual clean and professional way. Over the past few years you have now decorated most of the rooms in our home and as there are a few still to go I know we will avail ourselves of your services in the not too distant future. We have always been delighted with your work and would have no hesitation in recommending you to anyone. Looking forward to seeing you again.

John & Wendy Arnold

We hope to ask you back soon to decorate the lounge.

Just a note to say thank you for a job well done for the recent work you completed on our hall, stairs and landing. You undertook this in a highly professional manner and with the minimum amount of disruption. We are very pleased indeed with standard of work and appreciate the fact that you were able to keep to the estimated time needed to complete the job. We hope to ask you back soon to decorate the lounge.

Trevor Jones

Your work is faultless

I feel I must write to let you know how very pleased we are with the decoration of our through room at our home. We did appreciate the systematic way you worked and how you were prepared to co-ordinate with the other workmen and installers who carried out work in conjunction with the decoration. Your work is faultless and I know we will enjoy the result of your work for a long time to come. We also appreciated the way you left the house so tidy each evening. Thank you very much for your advice and the job overall. I am sure we will be using your services on many other occasions.

Maureen Horn

Re-papered and repainted our hall, stairs and landing

I am writing to say how pleased we are with the work you have just finished. Indeed, we are delighted with all the work you have done for us over the last year or so. You have now repainted the entire exterior to our house and more recently, you have re-papered and repainted our hall, stairs and landing. Both were big jobs, but you handled them extremely well. We are delighted with the professionalism of your work which has transformed our house. I should like to add that we have also been very impressed with your reliablility, punctuality and helpfulness. All three are very important to us in engaging tradesmen and you have certainly never let us down. Thank you very much indeed for all you have done for us. We should be delighted to act as a referee for you and you are more than welcome to use this letter as a testimonial if you wish.

Stephen Ashley

We wish to thank you and your team for the excellent work

Stephen, Lilian and I wish to thank you and your team for the excellent plaster work, joinery and decorating to our hall, stairs and landing and bathroom. It looks a treat and we hope that you will drop in to admire your handiwork when carpets and curtains are fitted. Thanks once again.

Lilian & Frank

Extremely pleased with the finished results

Just a short letter to thank you for all the hard work you put into redecorating our lounge, stairs and landing (and repairing the nasty holes in the wall!). We are both extremely pleased with the finished results. We would not hesitate in recommending you to anyone and would like to praise you on your professionalism, promptness, workmanship and of course good humour!

Karen Saul

Repaired an old ceiling and paint several rooms

We first engaged Steve Grayson in June to paint the exterior of the house. Since then we have employed him to restore and paint a panelled room which was in very bad repair. He also repaired an old ceiling and paint several rooms. In all of the work he has done for us, he has been prompt, meticulous, tidy and conscientious and the results have been of a high professional standard. We will not hesitate in using Steve for any future work and would not hesitate in recommending him to others.

Jim Rintool

Very pleased and happy with this work

Thank you for the recent works both to Olivia's bedroom and the exterior of our property that you have recently completed for us. Both Hayley and myself were very pleased and happy with this work. As you know the house is far from completed yet and are sure when funds allow and if you can put up with Olivia again, we will be calling you back for the next project.

Rob & Hayley Turvey

Putting right the bad job done by previous decorators

We would like to thank you for an excellent decorating job at our home, particularly putting right the bad job done by previous decorators. All the work was completed in a professional manner and was completed with a courteous and flexible approach throughout. Your manner was alwats helpful and we are very grateful for the way that you remained flexible to fit in with our day to day living requirements, particularly with two young children running about. Should you wish , we would be more than delighted to act as a reference and would wholeheartedly and without hesitation, recommend you to any potential clients.

Peter Fleming